Trick or treat for the chic

Once upon a time, Halloween was about finding the sluttiest sexiest costume possible, throwing it together with some fishnet tights or thigh highs (who wears those when it’s not for a costume anyways) and a fun party to wear it all to.

Now as a mom, Halloween takes on a whole new meaning. It’s all about getting costumes for the little ones that will fit over sweatpants and rainboots, and buying insane amounts of candy (we’re talking about enough to give an elephant diabetes). There’s also the fun of stealing ‘testing’ your kids’ candy to make sure it’s not poisoned. The parent that thought that little white lie up was a GENIUS! Funny how all the chocolate candy is usually the most ‘at risk’ for possible poison.

This year, I was given the task of tracking down two of the most coveted kid costumes for my girls: Anna and Elsa from Frozen. Knowing these costumes would go faster than socks at a Black Friday sale, I shopped early (like in September) and found the perfect costumes for my little ice princesses (which of course will be covered in chocolate 5 minutes after they put them on).

My ‘Mom’ costume these days generally consists of throwing on my trusty witches hat and calling it good. Sadly, my hat did not survive Halloween last year (thanks to some sticky hands and a rogue tootsie pop) so I was stoked when I saw these chic alternatives to a Halloween costume over on Dress Your Guests. Loving that I could easily throw something similar together from the items I have at home with some fun orange accessories and call it good! That means more time for candy ‘testing’.

Chic Halloween Costumes

photo courtesy of dressyourguests.com

If you’re looking for something a bit more costume-y, I’m  loving the casual take Stitch Fix did in their latest blog post about putting together a last-minute costume from items you already have in your closet.

{Happy Haunting}

Leave a Reply

