Suck it DST

If I have to hear about getting an extra hour of sleep because of Daylight Savings Time again, someone might get hurt.

My children don’t really seem to understand this whole concept of ‘losing an hour, gaining an hour’. They just know they’re awake and want to watch ‘The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown’ for the 12th time in the last 48 hours.

And to be honest, I don’t blame them. DST is pretty dumb. I get the idea of getting more ‘time’ during the summer by who are we to just arbitrarily decide what time we want it to be? If we’re going to do this, can we also just skip from 8am to 5pm Monday through Friday?

Some people suggest that you start gradually putting your children to bed later/earlier the week prior to DST. I think this could work if your child actually goes to sleep when you tell them to. Mine do not.

Some people suggest you don’t let them nap the day of the time change. Seriously, these people haven’t dealt with an overly tired toddler.

I’m sure there are lots of great lists out there with tips to help your child ‘adjust’ to the time change. Me? I’m just trying to get through this Sunday and hope that somehow, by Monday, they will just magically sleep until 7am.

Here is how I cope:

  • Add a ‘nudge’ to my coffee – wether it’s Bailey’s, Kahlua or something stronger, the combo of coffee and alcohol can make any situation slightly more tolerable.
  • Change the clock back in the kids’ room the night before – just in case they decide to stay in their room until it’s ‘time’ to wake up (who am I kidding – this is really grasping at straws here)
  • Make sure the iPad is charged – I’m going to need something to keep the little suckers angels busy.

And plan ahead – next year, I’m planning a sleepover (with friends or the grandparents) for the kiddos the night the time changes. Then I’ll be able to enjoy my extra hour.

IMG_3646.JPG

2 thoughts on “Suck it DST

Leave a Reply

