Eat, drink and be chic: 3 comfy outfit ideas for Thanksgiving dinner

3 comfy outfits for Thanksgiving

I’m a working mom, so I rarely have time to go shopping for myself (I tried it once with the kiddos and would rather be naked in public than do that again). If it weren’t for Stitch Fix, I’d probably still be wearing the flare leg embroidered jeans from college (that’s so 2002). That means I need help remixing the items I already own, which is where Pinterest comes in (and we already know I’m totally obsessed with pinning). Pinterest is a great source for outfit and styling inspiration. Once I find an outfit I like, I break down the individual pieces and find similar items in my closet to put together my own look.

When I started thinking about what to wear to Thanksgiving dinner, my first thoughts were my cleanest stretchiest pair of yoga pants and a baggy sweatshirt. I don’t think my fam would really appreciate me showing up in my usual ‘around the house’ uniform, so I searched Pinterest for some Thanksgiving outfit inspiration.

Here’s how i went from chic outfit ideas I pinned on Pinterest to actual outfits pulled from my own unorganized closet.

Outfit 1 – Casual dress with fur vest

I’m really obsessed with my fur vest right now so I loved the look of this casual dress paired with a fur vest. I chose my orange H&M skater dress (really any casual dress would work) and added my H&M fur vest, black booties and a simple necklace (I didn’t want a crazy necklace to complete with my already crazy vest). Plus, the dress is a great option for when you know you’ll be ‘gobbling’ up mashed potatoes and pie (see what I did there).

Dress with fur vest

Photos: left – shopbelleboutique.com, right – {Macaroni & Mascara}

Outfit 2 – Structured jacket with loose fitting top

The easiest way to upgrade a simple top and jeans is to add a cute jacket. I really like the simple look of this tan leather jacket and striped tee. I decided to use my brown leather fur lined jacket (because it’s oh so cozy) over this avocado green Anthropology top and dark jeans for a pulled together look (hint: these jeans have a bit of stretch to them which makes them comfy both before and after dinner).

Jacket and top

Photos: left: coastwithme.com, right: {Macaroni & Mascara}

Outfit 3 – Casual t-shirt and cozy scarf

There is nothing easier than a t-shirt (well unless you want to be naked). Add a fun scarf and ‘bam!’ there’s your outfit. I went with a black loose tee (nobody should be wearing fitted clothing on Thanksgiving), this cozy mustard yellow scarf and some comfy boyfriend jeans. Grab a long cardigan to take with you just in case you get chilly.

Tee and scarf

Photos: left – cstyleblog.com, right – {Macaroni & Mascara}

Now this is not rocket science, but gives you a good idea of how to take inspiration from places like Pinterest and translate it into outfits using items you already own (unless yoga pants are socially acceptable, in which case always choose yoga pants). And let’s be honest, odds are if you have children, whatever you’re wearing will be covered in a mixture of gravy, whipped cream and milk by the end of the meal.

Now, which of these outfits do you think I should wear to Thanksgiving dinner?

{Gobble, Gobble}

2 thoughts on “Eat, drink and be chic: 3 comfy outfit ideas for Thanksgiving dinner

Leave a Reply

