Christmas with kids: Our DIY ornaments

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about our holiday tradition of creating holiday ornaments as gifts for the girls’ grandparents (cheap and they’re guaranteed to love them). I linked to 5 different DIY ornament tutorials and told ya I’d be back to let you know which one we ended up doing.

Here are our finished ornaments. (Drumroll please)Pom Pom Wreath Ornaments

OK so these don’t look exactly like the lovely original version but they’re handmade with love by my little ones so I think they’re great. The original pom pom wreath ornament tutorial seemed pretty simple, which is why I chose it. I also liked that it incorporated photos, which meant that I could make use of a few of the hundreds of wallet sized prints we had from Lucy’s school photos.

I tweaked the above tutorial a bit (and listed my instructions below) based on the materials I was able to find.

Supplies:

  • 1-2 sheets of craft foam in desired color
  • 3 packages of pom poms in desired color(s) (you might need more or less depending on how many you are making)
  • photos (I used wallet size prints)
  • ornament hook or ribbon
  • craft glue

Instructions:

  1. Trace and cut circles on a sheet of green craft foam (I know this is real scientific but I used a the outer rim of a cup). You could use whatever round object you have or just draw a circle freehand if you’re talented (which I’m not).
  2. Trace and cut circles out of the photos (I used a shot glass and wallet size prints – classy I know).Pom Pom Wreath Ornaments
  3. Glue the photo to the center of the foam circles with craft glue. (Note: this is where the kids started helping me, but if your kids are older, they could help with the tracing and cutting in steps 1 and 2)
  4. Apply glue to pom poms and arrange around photo as pictured. You can put some glue on a plate and let the kids dip the poms in glue or apply glue directly to craft foam and arrange poms on glue. (Note: if you’re OCD like me and your kids are helping, look away or leave the room as you may be tempted to rearrange the pom poms in an orderly fashion so they look more like the original tutorial photos.) Let glue dry.
  5. Flip ornaments over and glue ribbon or ornament hanger to back of ornament.

Ta-da! Easily done in an afternoon (on Christmas Eve in our case). Sorry for the lack of photos, I was preoccupied making Christmas Eve dinner while working on these with the girls and forgot to take in progress photos.

The grandparents loved them and I had the girls make a 3rd set for our tree. They’re not perfect but perfect to me because they’re handmade by my babes. I can’t wait for next Christmas when we can enjoy them on our tree.

{Until next year}

One thought on “Christmas with kids: Our DIY ornaments

Leave a Reply

